fbpx

Kinship’s Local Wisdom


Deconstructing the Clobber Texts

ConversationsDeconstructing Facebook Event Cover

Brought to you by Kinship’s Local Wisdom Conversations

Though there are many books, articles, and videos about what are often called The Clobber Texts, I believe that learning is often a process that works best with personal interaction and guidance. This conversation will take a look Biblical principles of translation and cultural understanding. Then we will investigate the texts themselves and talk about what they were really designed to address.

Tom de BruinFacilitator: Tom de Bruin  - Tom has been an Adventist pastor, conference administrator, well-reviewed college lecturer, European Kinship Meeting speaker, and is a Bible scholar. He is a longtime, much-appreciated, ally. Tom’s associations include: Sheffield Institute for Interdisciplinary Biblical StudiesBritish New Testament Society (treasurer), Journal of European Interdisciplinary Biblical Studies (Editor), European Adventist Society of Theology and Religious Studies (Editor/Webmaster).

Format: Zoom  - A bit of lecture and much discussion. All Zoom participants are welcome to ask questions and contribute. Anyone and any age are welcome to attend.

Dates and Times: 

Deconstructing the Clobber Texts: Overview
January 30
,
at 10 AM GMT • 9 PM Melbourne, Australia • 6 PM
Perth, Australia • 5:00 AM ET US • 4:00 AM (4:00) CT US2:00 AM PT US
Register here:  
https://bit.ly/DeconstructingClobberTextsOverview


 

Deconstructing the Clobber Texts: Leviticus
February 12
,
at 6 PM GMT • 5 AM Melbourne, Australia 2 AM Perth, Australia • 1 PM ET US • 12 PMCT US • 10 AM PT US
Register here:  
https://bit.ly/DeconstructingClobberTexts-Leviticus


 

Deconstructing the Clobber Texts: Sodom
March 6
,
 at 6 PM GMT • 5 AM Melbourne, Australia 2 AM Perth, Australia • 1 PM ET US • 12 PMCT US • 10 AM PT US
Register here:  
https://bit.ly/DeconstructingClobberTexts-Sodom


 

Deconstructing the Clobber Texts: Paul
April 3, at 5 PM GMT • 3 AM Melbourne, Australia 1 AM Perth, Australia • 1 PM ET US • 12 PMCT US • 10 AM PT US
Register here:  
https://bit.ly/DeconstructingClobberTexts-Paul


 

Deconstructing the Clobber Texts: Clobber Texts: broke. woke. bespoke.
May 7
,
at 5 PM GMT • 3 AM Melbourne, Australia 1 AM Perth, Australia • 1 PM ET US • 12 PMCT US • 10 AM PT US
Register here:  ​​
https://bit.ly/DeconstructingClobberTexts-BrokeWokeBespoke